trick or treat

Halloween is on the way, and I’m not really the tricky sort, so I figured I’d give you a bag of assorted treats instead: some fun stuff to do, some interesting things to read, and so forth. I promise they won’t rot your teeth or spoil your appetite.

First of all, some shameless self-promotion: a couple of days ago I noticed that the total number of hits on this here blog has surpassed 10,000 (i.e. total since its inception in May). Folks, I have no idea how this ranks compared to your average blog (if there is such a thing) but a big nice round number like that sure did make me happy. Just thought I’d share. Whee!

If you live in Montreal and you’re not busy tonight, I highly encourage you to check out Matthew Hays’ book launch. He’s a teacher and writer in the world of film, and he has in the past written for the Mirror; he coordinates the Pride issue each year and he’s just really cool. Anyway, he just released a book entitled The View from Here: Conversations with Gay and Lesbian Filmmakers. I checked it out at Little Sisters when I was in Vancouver, and I got quite absorbed in it standing there in the store… I’m still not sure why I didn’t buy it at the time, and have regretted it a couple of times since, but now I will have my chance. It’s got really intriguing and insightful interviews, and he chose a fascinating range of filmmakers, rather than the by-rote stuff and big-name-only approach you might expect. Plus, the reviews have been fantastic.

The launch takes place Wednesday, October 17 from 5 to 9 at the Opus Hotel’s Suco Lounge at 10 Sherbrooke St. West, corner St-Laurent.

If you live in Montreal and you’re free on Friday, October 26, come to a panel at McGill and hear me and four other people talk about diversity in the queer community. Alan and Nada are both super-articulate people – they were the main organizers of this spring’s queer ethnocultural day, which absolutely rocked. I haven’t yet met Neil and Richard but I am muchly looking forward to it. I think they asked me to join the mix as the token alternative queer – y’know, those pesky bisexual polyamorous kinky tranny-loving people who get everyone’s convenient categories all snarled up. (I use the word “token” with a grin, by the way; the panel organizers are not making me feel marginalized.) Anyway, I don’t know that I’ve ever seen the question of queer diversity attacked from the angle of both ethnocultural concerns and kink/poly/bi stuff within the same panel, so it should make for an interesting discussion!

Pride and Prejudice:  Voices from the Queer Community

Friday October 26, 2007
4 P.M.-7 P.M.
McGill Bookstore Café
3420 McTavish Street

Panelists from Montreal’s queer community will discuss diversity issues from a variety of perspectives. Please join us!

Richard Dumas is a musician and writer who was born in British Columbia and studied music at McGill.

Neil Modi is a Complaints Officer with the Centre for Research-Action on Race Relations (CRARR) where he works closely on issues of importance to the queer community in the realm of human rights. 
 
Nada Raphael is a documentary filmmaker with a longstanding involvement with the Lebanese / Arab queer group Helem. She finished a documentary about immigrant les/bi/queer women in Montreal earlier this year.

Alan Wong has been a key part of Multimondo’s work for several years and a driving force behind the queer Ethnocultural Day. He’s also been involved with GLAM (Gay and Lesbian Asians of Montreal) and Gay Line.

Andrea Zanin is a leader, organizer, educator and writer within Montreal’s queer, polyamory and BDSM communities, as well as being an active trans ally. Her current leadership affiliations include leatherdyke group the Unholy Army of the Night and the Queer Ladies’ Reading Society.

And a couple of odd article links in case you wanted some entertainment.

Did you know that males are completely unnecessary? Fascinating. An excerpt of this Globe and Mail article:

“There is no reason that it couldn’t be done in humans,” said Vett Lloyd, a Mount Allison University professor of genetics, discussing recent experiments in which scientists successfully combined eggs from two female mice to create healthy offspring. “Well,” she corrected herself, “no technical reasons. There may be ethical and moral reasons.”

Ah, but see, I don’t get off on technicalities, and the ethical and moral (and cultural) debates are where it all resides, for me. I guess that’s why I’m a sex geek blogger and not a scientist.

And last but not least, a bit of humour for you. The Onion is always a treat, but this particular article – all twelve lines of it – just totally tickled my funnybone. It’s entitled “Bisexual’s Parents Half-Understand.” Hats off to the writer! I can see it being funny to the average reader, but for a bi person who’s actually been there, and the many of us who have been over and over and over again throughout our lifetimes, it’s so spot-on it just made me cackle with glee.


Leave a Reply

